Team 6 – Academic Structure

Team 6 Update
October 5, 2017

Dear NMSU Administrators, Faculty and Staff:

This report will be compilation of the Team 6 activities to date. There have been many questions about the process and progress of Team 6 over the last few weeks, and this communication is intended to keep the NMSU community up-to-date on the team’s activities.

In late 2016 and early 2017, it was decided by the Chancellor that just as NMSU had worked on Transforming NMSU for the 21st Century on the administrative side of the house, NMSU should also work on Transforming NMSU on the academic side of the house. Obviously, these two sides of our house are not independent of one another.

As Teams 1 through 5 complete their work on improving administrative structure and operations at NMSU, several major changes are in place or in progress. The span of control (the number of staff supervised by a manager) has expanded, with the exception of very small units. There is now a policy in place for determining the appropriate number of administrative assistants for a unit, the centralized business services center is in the process of being formed, and procurement process improvements have been made. Although the work has not been easy, it has been necessary, and will lead to a leaner, more efficient university better positioned to thrive in the resource-constrained environment of higher education. The Chancellor recently reported that the Transforming process, once fully implemented, will generate savings of $10 million dollars per year.

As the work of teams 1 through 5 began to wind down in early February of this year, the Chancellor, Provost, Faculty Senate Chair, Faculty Senate Vice Chair, and Special Assistant to the Chancellor met to discuss the goals for team 6 and representation on the team. From the beginning, the goal was for the majority of members to be faculty, with some representation from administration (deans), and staff (including the Chair of the Employee Council).  Because this team would be reviewing the “academic side” of NMSU, our Executive Vice President and Provost Dan Howard was selected to be at the helm. The current chair of the faculty Senate and a former chair of the faculty Senate, Dr. Chris Brown, and Dr, Chris Erickson, were also asked to serve. We strived to have a diverse committee that could adequately represent the many stakeholders with an interest in the academic enterprise of NMSU. See the complete membership of Team 6 for additional details.

Provost Howard introduced Team 6 in the February 23, 2017 Provost’s Post.

To make the group’s work productive, the following “subgroups” were established to review and provide ideas on the listed topics:

6.1 Structure of Colleges & Duplicate Programs

Kathy Stoner               (ACES)           CHAIR

Dan Howard               (NMSU)

Becky Palacios            (HSS)

Chris Erickson             (COB)

Lynn Kelly                  (ENGR)

Tom Dormody             (ACES)

Brad Shuster               (A&S)


6.2 Department Head Stipends and Appointments

Kevin Melendrez        (COB)             CHAIR

Ellen Bosman              (LIB)

Lakshmi Reddi           (ENGR)

Bea Guzman               (A&S)

Janet Green                 (NMSU)


6.3 Low Number of Majors and Low Yield degrees.

Azadeh Osanloo          (COE)             CHAIR

Jim Hoffman               (COB)

Adam Cavotta             (EMPC)

Chris Brown               (A & S)

Joe Lakey                    (A & S)

These subgroups have met on the following dates:

June 22nd, July 10th, July 25th, August 11th, and September 7th.

At the September 7th meeting it was announced that the Faculty Senate would like to have a liaison to team Six. This idea was welcomed by all, and Neal Rosendorf agreed to serve in this role.

Current status

The “Structure of Colleges and Duplicate Programs Subgroup” traveled to Arizona State University during the third week of September to visit with its leadership and faculty and come to a better understanding of the reorganization ASU has undergone over the course of the past 15 years.

The “Department Head Appointment and Stipend Subgroup” has surveyed the 15 NMSU peer institutions to better understand their policies and procedures regarding head appointments and related stipends. This subgroup plans to convene an NMSU Department Heads Forum in late October or early November 2017.

The “Small Majors and Low-Yield Subgroup” has been reviewing NMSU data and examining policy in other states relevant to degree programs that have low enrollment.

Team 6 met on October 5, 2017. Communication will be forthcoming about the “Structure of Colleges and Duplicate Programs” visit to Arizona State University.

Upcoming meetings

The regularly scheduled meetings for the balance of the fall semester are:

  • Nov 10 10:00-11:30
  • Dec 14 3:00-4:30


As each subgroup develops recommendations, they will schedule meetings with departments and groups potentially impacted by the recommendation to obtain reaction and input. Larger forums will be scheduled when recommendations are ready for broader discussion with the university community.


If you have questions about this project, please contact any Team Six member ( see above) or Janet Green, Special Assistant to the Chancellor, at 646-2227 or

Team Members

  • Adam Cavotta, Employee Council Chair
  • Azadeh Osanloo, Assc Professor, Educational Leadership & Admin
  • Beatrice Guzman, Admin Asst, Inter, Psychology
  • Becky Palacios, Assc Professor, Public Health Sciences
  • Brad Shuster, Professor, Biology
  • Chris Erickson, Professor, Economics & International Business
  • Christopher Brown, Faculty Senate Chair
  • Dan Howard, Executive Vice President and Provost
  • David Perez, Graduate Assistant
  • Ellen Bosman, Dept Head, Library Technical Services
  • James Hoffman, Dean, College of Business
  • Janet Green, Special Asst to the Chancellor
  • Joe Lakey, Acad Dept Head, Mathematical Sciences
  • Kathy Stoner, Acad Dept Head, Fishery and Wildlife Sciences
  • Kevin Melendrez, Assc Professor, Accounting & Information System
  • Lakshmi Reddi, Dean, College of Engineering
  • Lynn Kelly, Professor, Engineering Technology
  • Tom Dormody, Professor, Agricultural & Extension Education

Download membership list


February 24th 4-5 p.m. – Dove Hall Conference room
March 6th 10-11:30 a.m. – Hadley Hall 130
March 20st 1:30-3:00 p.m. – Hadley Hall 130
April 13th 8:30-10:30 a.m. – Dove Hall Conference room
May 8th 10-11:30 a.m. – Hadley Hall 130
May 23rd 3:30-5:00 p.m. – Hadley Hall 130
June 26th 9:00-1100 a.m. – Hadley Hall 130
July 10th 2:00-4:00 p.m. – Hadley Hall 130
July 25th 9:30-11:30 a.m. – Hadley Hall 130
Aug 11th 12:00-4:00 p.m. – University Center and Residence


February 24th Agenda

March 20th Agenda

April 13th Agenda

May 8th Agenda

May 23rd Agenda

June 26th Agenda

Meeting Notes

March 6th Notes

Supporting Documents

These documents were distributed to Team 6 members.

Degree and Certificate Programs by College and Department – Number of Majors and Number of Awards

College Structure of NMSU Peers

NMSU Peers and Other University Health Programs

Academic Departmental Facultv and Student Credit Hour